Cultivating spaces for extraordinary artists

Celebrate the Joy of DaDa

Artists Take Over 30 Museums and Galleries Across the UK to Celebrate the Joy of DaDa."It's Such a Crazy Idea!"​​​​​​​

To mark the 102nd anniversary of the 1st Dada International Exhibition in Berlin, 31 d/Deaf, Disabled and Neurodivergent artists will stage Dada inspired interventions in 30 museums and galleries across Britain and Northern Ireland on the same day on​​​​​​​ 2 July 2022.

The interventions cover a wide range including performative; time based; ephemeral; quirky; unusual; minimal; solo/duo/group; digital and much more.

The project asks the question - What if the Dada movement had started in 2020 in lockdown? What would they have done? Is now a timely moment to resurrect the spirit and essence of Dada?

The event with the title We are Invisible We are Visible (WAIWAV) is presented by DASH, the disabled led visual arts organisation, and was awarded the 2021 Ampersand Prize.

WAIWAV host galleries:

Arnolfini, Bristol; John Hansard Gallery, University of Southampton; The Pier Arts Centre, Stromness; Centre for Contemporary Art Derry~Londonderry; Golden Thread Gallery, Belfast; VOID, Derry; Grizedale Arts, Cumbria; Harris Museum and Art Gallery, Preston; HOME, Manchester; Liverpool Biennial; Manchester Art Gallery; Tate Liverpool; Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead; The Hepworth, Wakefield; Leeds Art Gallery; MIMA - Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art ; Site Gallery, Sheffield; Glynn Vivian Art Gallery, Swansea; Ikon, Birmingham; Nottingham Contemporary; Newlyn Art Gallery, Cornwall; Tate St Ives; Firstsite, Colchester, Essex; Focal Point Gallery, Southend on Sea; MK Gallery, Milton Keynes; Modern Art Oxford; Tate Britain, London; Tate Modern, London; Towner Art Gallery, Eastbourne; Turner Contemporary, Margate.

The WAIWAV artists:

Stav Meishar; AIM (Art In Motion); Tony Heaton /Terry Smith; Bel Pye; Kristina Veasey; Chris Tally Evans; Porcelain Delaney; Nicola Woodham; Grace Currie; Alice Quarterman; Dora Colquhoun; April Lin 林森; Lisette Auton; Caroline Cardus; Jenette Coldrick; Ashokkumar Mistry; Cheryl Beer; Sonia Boué; Christina Lovey; Alex Billingham; Luke ‘Luca’ Cockayne; Andrea Mindel; gobscure; Jo Munton/Stephanie Finegan; Mianam Bashir/Emma Powell; Aaron Williamson; Sam Metz; Hayley Hindle; Anahita Harding; Chisato Minamimura; Alistair Gentry.

Press Enquiries:
Erica Bolton, Bolton & Quinn
Tel: +44 (0)7711 698 186